Invisible Man

Some days are worse than others. Bad weather days are almost always bad. And don´t tell me why I don´t like Mondays, because I already know.

Of course, it took me a while to figure it out. Why do people bump into me all the time? Why do people not get out-of-the-way when I try to pass a doorway or come up the elevator stairs? Why do people on the sidewalk suddenly walk just in front of me without paying attention to me at all? Why do people go before their turn in bakeries, vegetable shops, supermarkets? And in trains, metros, buses too. People go before their turn basically everywhere.

I remember once, I was pushing a motorcycle with a flat tyre over a broad sidewalk, I mean a really broad sidewalk. Six or seven persons could have walked next to each other without a problem. Also, besides me, there were only two other persons on this sidewalk. I was pushing this – very heavy – motorcycle up the road and at least 100 meters ahead, there is this guy talking to a girl. They are talking in a very relaxed way, looking everywhere around them, without a hurry. Two persons who have known each other for a while. They happen to stand in the middle of the sidewalk, which lies just on the same strip where I am trying to push the motor along. Yet they do not move an inch for me. I literally touch the boy´s back while I pass by, and only then he reacts, steps forward quickly and protests. I ask him whether he is blind. He replied that he was too busy talking to the girl.

First I thought it was just rudeness. But then I noticed all people behaved like that with me, not just rude people. Children too. Then I thought it was a typical Spanish thing. Spanish people are not as formal as the Dutch. But even so, even in the Netherlands these things happened. Less so, but still.

In meetings, I would try to say my opinion, and I would hear myself saying it – shy, blushing, but still, saying it -. But no response would come. As if it had not been said at all. Naturally, I would think I had said something stupid. But then, others would say the same thing as me, just after I had said it. And then people would react to it.

It was watching Doctor Who that solved the puzzle for me. Not one particular episode as such. As a matter of fact, not all episodes of the series are equally good. (Although some episodes are brilliant, like – for instance – “Blink” which is very clever and quite scary.) However, its thinking-outside-the-box attitude was just what I needed to figure it out. And then I got it.

All has been discovered. Flee at once.

I am invisible. But not completely so. As soon as one bumps into me or as one hears me speak, I jump into sight. Suddenly, I am there. That´s why it takes people so long to react to me: they don not expect me to be there, yet suddenly, there I am.

It has come to great advantage to me. Do you ever wonder what´s going on just behind your back? It´s me. I am the eerie sound in grandma´s cupboard, I am the dancing shadow under the bed, I am the creaking floor in unlit attics, and I blow out your candle in a dusky shed.

Also, it goes without saying, I´m split the time the cockerel crows.

I admit, it´s not much as far as revenges go, but hell, it´s something.

2 thoughts on “Invisible Man

  1. Eva says:

    Vaya, vaya… así que eres invisible!!!;-P Hay algunos puntos que no estoy de acuerdo sobre la educación, cada cultura tiene normas de educación y tampoco no se puede generalizar, eso sí, a veces lo que para uno es mala educación para otros no y seguro que al reves tambien pasa.

    Hasta luego

    Eva

  2. matxil says:

    Por supuesto, perdona si parece que sugiera otra cosa. Por supuesto la mala educación es algo de todas partes, y la buena educación también.
    De todos modos, en Holanda soy medio invisible también.

Leave a Reply

